pubic hair freedom and sexual consent (more info and entertainment)

5 Jun

Two things of interest:

1)Segueing off of Lucy’s brilliant post The Talk, I wanted to share this absolutely delightful comic, Sex Talk, about the kind of conversations you *must* have before engaging in sexual activity.

And on a slightly more off-beat-humor note: technical details of signing a sexual consent forms.

The topic of discussing consent is something I find so very valuable because growing up LDS, it wasn’t’ something discussed AT ALL except to protect my hymen at all costs (*Thank You* Lucy, for the way you handled that) until married, and then basically, you can “do it”, and how it was discussed with your (now, legal and lawful) sexual partner, wasn’t addressed.  At least that was my experience.

and…

2) While I’m segueing, here:  regarding my Brazilian bikini waxing post, I decided i really must give a nod to one of Amanda Palmer’s latest little ditties… Map of Tasmania.  Before you watch the music video I will warn you it is outrageous, scandalous, and all about pubic hair and therefore full off all sorts of creative merkins (pubic wigs).  So there you go.  Consider yourself warned.  But mostly I wanted to share what Amanda had to say about it all:

“”I’ve been really shocked and distressed to find out that 8- and 9-year-old girls are getting all their pubic hairs waxed off by their mothers,” she says. “I think if I have any purpose at all, it’s to stand up there and say, ‘Oh, no, no, no, no, girls. You totally have a choice. You can wax it, you can shave it, you can grow it out, and this really is up to you.’ That’s the way that I feel about everything, that you just need to know there’s a choice out there.””

And now the video (but only if you really want too)

6 Responses to “pubic hair freedom and sexual consent (more info and entertainment)”

  1. mfranti June 6, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    My friend linked to this video on her fb and I’ll admit that it made me uncomfortable because I’ve/we’ve been programmed to think pubic hair= nasty, ugly, unpleasant, and something to never talk about (except to send the message that we have to get rid of it).

    I wish she told me about AP’s quote. I might not have taken it so seriously. (Weird. I’m not usually a prude but I catch myself every once in a while…)

    I’m thinking a (half)Brazilian might work for me. 🙂 Oh, that’s a scary thought

  2. sylvialyon June 6, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I thought this video was inventive and open (literally)! I found myself appreciating the artistic interpretation. It’s true–it really is up to us. I tend to go with what feels good for myself, but sometimes I like to take my partner into consideration. And men, just like women, prefer all different things.

  3. Patty B July 8, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    um, am I the only one who watched this video and realized that there was not one single natural looking mons in the whole set? All of the funky merkins were clearly on top of either completely shaved or at the very least thoroughly trimmed and tamed pubic hair. And the ones that were bushy were clearly unnatural exaggerations. Seems to me that if Palmer is going to write a whole song and make a whole video meant to, at least in part, argue that going natural and “bushy” is okay, then there should have been at least one or two pubic hair styles that actually *were* naturally bushy.

    I like the ideal espoused here. Too bad it’s so hypocritically represented.

  4. Eliza R July 8, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    hm… well the one featured proximately at the beginning (starting about 35 seconds in) is actually a lot like what I look like when I’m just trimming around the bikini line and not waxing it all off. Fuzzy fuzzy bush. (Just not quite a pink & shimmery.)

  5. Kat July 13, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Here is the best Christmas present my husband EVER got for me/us: Laser hair removal. LOVE, love, love, love it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. what sexy *looks* like « Missionary Position - July 9, 2011

    […] today, inspired in part by both by my recent feelings of unsexy-ness and by Patty B’s insightful comment about Amanda Palmer’s Map of Tasmania music vid.  That thought was “what does sexy […]

Leave a comment