oh that feeling…..

7 Nov

I heard a most awesome song on the radio this morning.

Oh that feeling… Holy damn, can love ever do a number on a person.

So my original idea was to come up with a whole list of music vids about love (and heartbreak, and angsty unrequited desire, etc) but I have no time.  And, anyways, I like hearing other people’s music suggestions anyways.

So please, do share!! what are your favorite songs about love? (either swooning or raging.  I like the raging ones most :D)

(and I’ll see about eventually putting them all together in a MMP ‘mix tape’ post.)

23 Responses to “oh that feeling…..”

  1. Brad November 7, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    I kinda like the rock ballads. Aerosmith’s “Angel” comes to mind. http://youtu.be/CBTOGVb_cQg

  2. Eliza R. November 7, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    brad~ aw yeah baby. ❤

  3. Brother Remora November 7, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Best music for “getting it on”:

    Side 2 of “The Joshua Tree” by U2.

    The whole CD “Diva” by Annie Lennox.

    Best song for tough times in the relationship – “We’re In This Together” by Nine Inch Nails. Very reaffirming.

  4. Porter November 8, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    Nickleback. Animals. ’nuff said.

  5. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    bro remora~ heh, DH and I used to make out for *hours* to U2 <3!
    Porter~ Nickleback!! yes!

    k, another break-up song:
    Sick of You, by Cake

    and… well… just to get all raw (and explicit)
    Closer, by Nine Inch Nails. (contains the f-bomb.) (and… well… yes.)

  6. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    aaaaand… beautiful pain and heart break from Adele. Someone Like You.

  7. SingleE November 8, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Take My Breath Away by Berlin.(utterly romantic. *sigh*)
    Lady In Red (ditto)
    Bolero 😀 😀 😀

    I’ve mentally blocked out most of the old “love songs” that I used to daydream about when I was a teenager and a naive twenty-something when I was sure Mr. Eternal Companion was just around the corner. Now my favorite type of music is instrumental, of various different flavors: Jesse Cook, Apocalyptica, a bunch of different artists from the Narada label, Enigma (some of it anyway).

  8. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    SigleE… oh_my_gawds_YES.

    (and I *have* to post Apocalyptica’s cover of Nothing Else Matters. /swoon)

  9. Jacob November 8, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Lyrics:

    sittin’ on the beach
    the island king of love
    deep in fijian seas
    deep in some blissful dream
    where the goddess finally sleeps
    in the lap of her lover
    subdued in all her rage
    and I am aglow with the taste
    of the demons driven out
    and happily replaced
    with the presence of real love
    the only one who saves

    I wanna dance with you
    I see a world where people live and die with grace
    the karmic ocean dried up and leave no trace
    I wanna dance with you
    I see a sky full of the stars that change our minds
    and lead us back to a world we would not face

    the stillness in your eyes
    convinces me that I
    I don’t know a thing
    and I been around the world and I’ve
    tasted all the wines
    a half a billion times
    came sickened to your shores
    you show me what this life is for

    I wanna dance with you
    I see a world where people live and die with grace
    the karmic ocean dried up and leave no trace
    I wanna dance with you
    I see a sky full of the stars that change our minds
    and lead us back to a world we would not face

    in this altered state
    full of so much pain and rage
    you know we got to find a way to let it go

    sittin’ on the beach
    the island king of love
    deep in fijian seas
    deep in the heart of it all
    where the goddess finally sleeps
    after eons of war and lifetimes
    she smilin’ and free, nothin’ left
    but a cracking voice and a song, oh lord

    I wanna dance with you
    i see a world where people live and die with grace
    the karmic ocean dried up and leave no trace
    I wanna dance with you
    i see a sky full of the stars that change our minds
    and lead us back to a world we would not face
    we would not face
    we would not face
    we would not face
    we would not face
    we would not face

  10. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Jacob~ wow. thank you.

  11. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    another i-will-conquer-this-wreckage song. (heh.. yah.)

    Jar of Hearts, by Christina Perri

  12. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    oh yeah… and my single-sob-song from waaaay back when. { Embarrassed }.

    Depeche Mode, Somebody.

  13. KaralynZ November 8, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Seal -Love’s Divine
    Incubus – Dig
    Matt Nathanson – Come on get Higher
    Jennifer Lopez – “I’m glad”
    And of course “Come What May” from Moulin Rouge

  14. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    @KaralynZ… aw The Man Who Can’t Be Moved. The Script.

  15. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    more on the edgier side, as well as the non-english-spectrum (with all the difficulties in translations of metaphors..) (…”have” and “hate”….)

    i *love* Du Hast. By Rammstein.

    a bit about the translation ~> http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=3582

    and the (fairly disturbing) video.

  16. KaralynZ November 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Now that i’m not on my phone…If you’ve never seen the video to “love’s divine” (mentioned above) by Seal, you should. If it doesn’t make you cry, check your pulse.

    Eliza I love The Script!

    There are just so many ways to interpret this question. Are we talking songs that are emotionally connected to us and our experiences with love? Songs that we feel speak philosophically about love in general (May I suggest the entire soundtrack to RENT ?) songs that we associate with more traditional romance/seduction/sex?

    There are songs that were special to my husband and I when we were dating but I while I think of them as our songs, I don’t think of them as “love songs” necessarily because I don’t think of love the same way now that I did then. When you say love songs, I think LOVE, and my personal preference is for songs that make me feel strong emotion – frequently ones that make me cry. Not the ones you might think – I can’t listen to “Closer” by Better than Ezra without crying for example, and the Incubus song is a close one too.

    “Strawberry Wine” by Deana Carter

    “Underneath Your Clothes” by Shakira

    “When the Stars Go Blue” by Tim McGraw

    “Love Should” by Moby.

  17. Fanny A November 8, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Aw yeah, for raw… I second Nickelback- Animals.
    Enigma MCMXC
    Bolero
    Danzig
    Led Zeppelin- When the Levy Breaks

  18. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    @KaralynZ~ “There are just so many ways to interpret this question. Are we talking songs that are emotionally connected to us and our experiences with love? Songs that we feel speak philosophically about love in general, songs that we associate with more traditional romance/seduction/sex?”

    Which ever of the above (or beyond) get your juices going 🙂

  19. Eliza R. November 8, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    oh oh oh.. Florence and the machine, Kiss with a Fist. ❤

  20. Fanny A November 8, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Yes! Kiss with a Fist is marvelous!

    And yay for Du Hast! I love that song.

  21. handlewithcare November 9, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    OK-big,passionate woman’s love-anything by Chaka Khan.Ain’t nobody does it better.No angst,just good loving.

  22. TJ November 9, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    Love the depeche mode “Somebody” reference, brings back memories.

    DW and I are more jazz and smooth jazz fans for getting in the mood.

    We love George Benson and how about some old-school Barry White?

  23. alex w. November 11, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I have a serious romance spot for Come What May from Moulin Rouge (high five to KaralynZ!), and The Way I Am by Ingrid Michaelson.

    And Florence + the Machine is 100% alex w. approved for sexy time. (And Ceremonials is a LONG album! ;))

Leave a Reply

