A Little Public Service Announcement

11 Aug

Last night Sister Zina and I were conversing and a most embarrassing topic came up. One that is so shameful, we’ve never dared to share it with other people. But we decided that it’s better for the readers of this forum to benefit from our youthful mistakes than to keep this dirty secret in the dark.

Young women listen up, and mothers teach your daughters this very important lesson: Do not, under any circumstances, pluck the fine hairs that form around your nipple and breast area. They will grow back and you will regret it for the rest of your life.

Silliness aside, long, wiry nipple and body hairs are a common occurrence for women and even though they’re “normal”, they’re ugly and they affect my body image. I wish had the self-confidence to not care. But I don’t. I just don’t have the courage to let my lover suckle my breasts and later find a long black hair tickling the back of his throat.

So do you have any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

11 Responses to “A Little Public Service Announcement”

  1. KaralynZ August 11, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    I just pluck ’em anyway. Why the heck shouldn’t I? I shave my leg hair, underarm hair and pubic hair. I even shave the hair off my hands and fingers, which I find FAR more embarrassing to admit than that I pluck the hairs around my nipples which I find unsightly.

  2. KaralynZ August 11, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Oh, and I never plucked the hairs when I was a girl. Most of my body hair is naturally very light blonde and fine, I only started noticing the dark wiry hairs on my breasts after age 20. So I don’t think that plucking them has any effect on how they grow in.

  3. nataratat August 11, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Electrolysis. Best.Idea.Ever. So very worth it to have done. It doesn’t hurt any worse than tweezing (maybe even less) and you’ll only need a few sessions.

  4. alex .w August 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    I plucked one out a couple months ago and it caused a little scab. And then I went to the gynecologist for an annual exam. I kept thinking “don’t notice the boob scab, don’t notice the boob scab…”
    I’ll never pluck one again!

  5. Lucinda M. August 11, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Oh yes, Alex, the boob scab. I’ve had one of those too. I’m sure Dr. Gyno has seen them before.

  6. Zaissa August 11, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I was always led to believe that hairs pulled out by the root (as opposed to shaved off) grew back weaker/thinner. I would think plucking should be fine.

    I have a weird single hair that grows from nothin’ to like an inch in less than 24 hours just at the bottom of my belly button. I just rip that sucker out when it comes up.

    OK also, I have to say, I just figured out the theme of the bloggers’ handles. (Duh!) Clever, ladies.

  7. Whitney August 12, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    I’ve always had these. They’re not caused by anything in particular and you can’t prevent ’em. Just pluck them. CAREFULLY.

  8. Mouse August 12, 2011 at 2:47 am #

    I just pull them out, but I don’t notice them very often. I have very light body hair, it is almost pointless to shave my legs and I never go above the knee. My body hair only got darker during my first pregnancy and started to get a tiny bit unrulier, but is still quite sparse – to the point that I actually had an epiphany in the shower when I was pregnant! I had always been confused by the term “bikini wax” and just assumed that it was pretty much the same as a brazilian, it was until my pregnancy that I realized that other ladies had hair that strayed beyond a tiny neat patch! It was definitely an “oh, duuuuuuh” moment that left me feeling pretty stupid…

    As to the boob hairs… I’m pretty busty and only get one or two a year on the lower part of my breasts so I rarely notice them. I have to actually lift and squish them around trying to see everything even with a mirror, so I don’t bother. I do clear out my montgomery glands occasionally though, I don’t think that is recommended but I can’t help myself if they are a bit clogged up.

  9. Miss M August 12, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Second the electrolysis tip. Easy. And It works after just a couple sessions.

  10. Anonymous October 1, 2012 at 5:45 am #

    Those are terminal hairs and perfectly normal to get them as you age. Almost without exception, all women will start getting them by their 30’s. And the amount increases with age. This can also be an indicator of an endocrine issue. So, get that ruled out first (because why deal with it when you may not need to?) but otherwise, either opt for the laser, electrolysis, or tweezers 🙂

  11. dmtm December 7, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    There have been no new articles since July. Has the site been discontinued?? I hope not.

Leave a Reply

