Body Parts

17 Jun

Since Lucinda gave the heads up about the modesty convo going on over at New Cool Thang, I have decided I simply MUST share this absolutely FABULOUS blog post written by Kristina, about Body Image, Marriage, Nudity, and Sexuality.  About nudist beaches and fearing a boudoir photography session.  About aging and how our bodies change over time.  About how we judge other’s bodies, and about intimacy with the ones we love. 

Here’s a tiny excerpt:

“…the fact of the matter is most of us are very uncomfortable with our bodies and what makes us feel sexy and all that. I think the solution is putting the parts together and getting naked…

My goal is to fix my vision. To first see myself as a whole instead of a collection of parts that I like, don’t like, and don’t think about. I’m not alone in this need to pull myself back into a whole being instead of scattered bits. How many times do you hear people identify body parts they would change? It’s always a longer list than the parts they like just the way they are. But when a person is made into parts a terrible thing is lost…and I’m not just talking about self-confidence or empowerment. When we are just parts we try to hide what we don’t like about ourself and hiding parts of who we are ultimately hides who we can be.”

Go. Now. Read the whole post. It’s really brilliant.

6 Responses to “Body Parts”

  1. amelia June 18, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    okay. That post at New Cool Thang is annoying as hell. I hate the way that people attempt to turn biology into an excuse for imposing sexist conceptions of sexuality and modesty on young girls and young women, which conceptions so often lead to body image issues and hang ups about sex. Makes me bonkers.

    Also, I really think men should be aware that their bodies trigger some pretty powerful sexual responses in women, too. That whole “but it’s evolutionary psychology/biology that makes men always about sex and women the gatekeepers thereof” often fails to acknowledge that the male body is a beautiful thing and that women and girls also have sex drives.

    And Kristine’s post was fabulous. Thanks for sharing!

  2. BethSmash June 19, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    Amelia,
    I agree. This whole but it’s biology argument is frustrating on a whole lot of levels. It’s not like men are mindless idiots who MUST have sex with every female they come across, there’d be a lot more rape if that were the case, so obviously men have SOME control. And I doubt all that control is based in the idea of a woman saying no. I also think that it diminishes how women view sex as well – like we’re not supposed to be sexual beings because of how we’re supposed to say no all the time. When I was in college, I took Sociology of Gender, and we studied lots of different arguments and viewpoints about sex, one of which was the biological argument and I have to say, I was surprised, when even the men who previously had been completely conservative in their discussions in class thought that this idea was unfair to both men and women (when previously they had been sort of walking the LDS party line when it came to gender roles) so hopefully if those uber-conservative folks can find problems with this, maybe others will as well.

  3. Eliza R June 19, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Amelia and Bethsmash~ thank you, both! I really appreciate your comments here. I hope you don’t mind, I’m going to link to them in a new post about slut shaming and the negative connotation of the word “sexualizing” when applied to women.

  4. Anonymous July 3, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Does anyone know of a good boudoir photographer in Salt Lake/Utah County? I have wanted to do a session for a while!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. slut shaming « Missionary Position - June 19, 2011

    […] both Ameila and BethSmash made very insightful comments in response to the Cool New Thang post on modesty, […]

  2. slut shaming « Missionary Position - June 19, 2011

    […] both Ameila and BethSmash made very insightful comments in response to the Cool New Thang post on modesty, I’d like to […]

Leave a Reply

