for your intertainment and information

29 May

The stake president explains why you must abstain from oral sex.

How many calories you burn during sex: every possible scenario.

Power, Sex, Revenge, and a Mormon Bishop: A review of Moriah Jovah’s Magdalene.  (About the Author, Read an Excerpt, Buy the book.)

Ah, yes, being LDS and single… an Editorial.

———-

Stay tuned… there’s more where this came from.

 

14 Responses to “for your intertainment and information”

  1. Elyse June 5, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Re: the President explains why…

    My first reaction was “seriously? There are still priesthood leaders with this kind of attitude toward sexual relations? And so smarmy and uber-righteous and holier-than-thou about it all?” And then my second reaction was “Well, DUH. We’re talking about old men, here.” And my thoughts after that are not well-formed, but along the lines of “Mormon men really do think they’re better than women” and “Mormon women are so stinking repressed it’s not funny,” and “I wonder if masturbation is okay then if I’m still single?” and…um, wait, forget I said that last bit.

  2. Lucy W June 5, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Hi Elyse and welcome!

    I believe Stake President is parody a la The Onion. Unfortunately, it’s so not far from how so many of us remember it that it’s a really SAD parody.

  3. Elyse June 5, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Well, that’s a relief! It was such a good(bad?subtle?) parody that it sucked me right in (so to speak.)

    I have friends who have had this kind of talk with their church leaders. The attitudes are so similar…are you SURE it’s a parody? No, really!

  4. Lucy W June 5, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Well, I’m NOT 100% sure (more like 90%), but I have to hope and pray that it is.

  5. Elyse June 5, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    It is. 🙂 I’m now in love with the guy who’s writing it, and hoping he’s not married. LOL.

  6. Lucy W June 5, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    That was fast confirmation. You must have prayed hard about it.

  7. elizaR June 5, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    you guys are cracking me up 😛

  8. President Paternoster June 7, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    My dear sisters. I am glad you have prayed and found my site to be authentic. I do hope you enjoy my new hairstyle too.

    With love,

    Your humble servant even President Paternoster

  9. Lucy W June 7, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Thank you, Fath– er, President.

  10. Moriah Jovan June 8, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    OMG, wow!!!! Thanks for the shout-out. I haven’t been prepared for this level of acceptance (or any) of Magdalene within the LDS community. I’m really, seriously floored.

  11. Whitney June 17, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    I just have to say, THANK YOU for linking to that stake pres’ blogpost. It made me so. Incredibly. HAPPY. I just about died laughing. I am totally showing that one to my husband.

    But on a serious note, I feel bad for his wife. And the poor couples who buy into his “sex is only for procreation” ideology.

  12. Whitney June 17, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Oh, it really IS satire. I am simultaneously happy and also a little disappointed. Who am I supposed to make fun of now?

  13. Eliza R June 17, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Whitney~ hahahaahahahah, it’s okay 🙂 I’ve sat through plenty of sunday school lessons that actually seriously took this stance… ::grimace::

  14. Lucy W June 17, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Who am I supposed to make fun of now?

    That made me LOL so loud my neighbors looked at me funny.

Leave a Reply

